• During the British era Hamirpur was part of princely state of Kangra before independence and was made a part of the Punjab state after independence. In 1966 during reformation of states it was made a part of Himachal Pradesh while being the part of District Kangra.

  • On 1st September 1972 Hamirpur was declared a district and Kangra civil & Sessions Division was bifurcated into two Sessions Divisions that is Kangra at Dharamshala and Una , Hamirpur at Una.
  • In 1985, Civil & Sessions Division at Una was bifurcated and Civil & Sessions Division ,Hamirpur came into existence. Prior to the creation of Civil & Sessions Division, Hamirpur cases pertaining to Hamirpur district were being decided by District and Sessions Judge , Una by holding Circuit Court at Hamirpur.

  • At the time when Hamirpur was part of Civil & Sessions Division Kangra at Dharamshala there was only one court of Sub-Judge 1st Class here . On creation of District Hamirpur the said court of Sub-Judge 1st Class was converted into Court of Senior Sub-Judge-cum-Chief Judicial Magistrate Hamirpur in January  1976.

  • Thereafter as many as four Courts of Sub-Judges were created at Hamirpur,  The requisite details of which is as under:-

    Sr. No.
    Court Name Year Of Creation
    Judge (Senior Division) -cum-Additional Chief Judicial Magistrate, Court No.I, Hamirpur 1990-91
    Civil Judge (Junior Division) -cum-Judicial Magistrate 1st Class, Court No. II ,Hamirpur 1981-82
    Civil Judge (Junior Division) -cum-Judicial Magistrate 1st Class, Court No. III ,Hamirpur 2003-04
    Civil Judge (Junior Division) -cum-Judicial Magistrate, Court No. IV ,Hamirpur 2007-08
    Fast Track Court, Hamirpur 2003